Saturday, July 26, 2008

And The Award Goes To…

I’m a member of the International Association of Media Tie-In Writers (IAMTW), an organization founded by Lee Goldberg and Max Allan Collins for writers of movie, television, comic book, RPG and videogame adaptations and novelizations. You’re invited to check out the IAMTW website, where you’ll doubtless recognize the names of many of our members.

Yesterday, the group presented its Second Annual Scribe Awards for excellence in licensed tie-in writing at the San Diego Comic-Con on a panel hosted by member Andy Mangels. This year, the awards went to:

Best General Fiction-Original
Mr. Monk and the Two Assistants by Lee Goldberg

Best General Fiction-Adapted
American Gangster by Max Allan Collins

Best Speculative-Original
Stargate Atlantis: Casualties Of War by Elizabeth Christensen

Best Game-Related Original (Special Scribe Award)
Eberron: Night Of The Long Shadows By Paul Crilley

Best Speculative Fiction-Adapted
30 Days of Night by Tim Lebbon

Best Young Adult-Original
Nancy Drew and the Clue Crew #10: Ticket Trouble by Stacia Deutsch & Rhody Cohon

Best Young Adult-Adapted
The 12 Dogs of Christmas by Steven Paul Leiva

Grandmaster Award
Alan Dean Foster

Congratulations to all our winners. I recommend all these fine efforts, as well as the works of the other nominees, a list of which can be found on the IAMTW website.


rob! said...

man, that's a cool logo!

i tried joining a sort of artists guild once, but it was so poorly run i gave up on it. artists are a cowardly, superstitious lot, and don't band together well.

Paul Kupperberg said...

IAMTW is composed of brave and stouthearted authors who work very well together. There's also an email list component of the group with lots of support and general chatter about tie-ins and writing in general. We also have lapel pins!